• Header photo credit- Montana Sierra

  • Patricia Hollett

    The Author

  • Currently Writing/Completed

    Currently working on:

    Fallon -70,094 words
    Forest Born -67408 words
    Ice Whisperings -2997 words
    Garrett -9623words
    Northern Blood -11658 words
    Winter's Reign -787 words

    Completed

    Blood Harvest - 998 words
    Keeping Secrets - 1500 words
    Misunderstood -700 words
    Sarah's Amulet-A Necromancer Slave Story -6004 words
    The Cult -1998 words
    Unfortunate Blessings -454 words

    To Be Published

    Artistic Escape - flash (to be pub 2011)
    Happy Birthday Honey - flash (to be pub 2011)
    Making Choices - flash (to be pub 2011)
    Together Forever - flash (to be pub 2011)

    Published

    Allie's Clown - 1500 words (Published on Dark Valentine website March 2011)
    Valeria's Knight - 4807 words (Published in Dark Gothic Resurrected Magazine)
    The Angel Wars/Post-Apocalyptic Emails at the end of time-A collaboration with author Tammy Crosby (Published by PillHill Press in August 2011)
    Valeria's Knight - 4807 words (Published in Night to Dawn Magazine-September 2011)

  • Stuff to Read – Writing & Blogs

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 18 other followers

  • Blog Stats

    • 5,749 hits
  • Copyright ©

    All posts, stories and comments made by Patricia Hollett on WordPress.com are property of Patricia Hollett. All rights reserved. 2010 ©
  • Influenster

A Year of Writing and Learning


I just realized that a year ago April, I joined a writing group OWG and was writing for a couple of months prior to that.

I looked back on my writing from the first post I ever did on the writing group web site and the months following and found such a difference in what I did back then to how I write today.

I’ve found that through others, their suggestions, critiques, and feedback I’ve been able to focus on what really matters with my writing and how I now approach it.

A year ago I had no idea about showing vs. telling (well I did, but didn’t really follow the rules with my writing), tenses, POV’s, hooks, Nanowrimo, and plot and character development. Oh, the list goes on and on about what I didn’t know.

Needless to say, joining the writing group has made a tremendous impact on my writing, and reading for that matter. Now I even look at books differently.

Instead of just reading the story, I now look at character development, what the author’s trying to convey with the story, the plot, the tense, the POV, and everything that I’ve been learning over the past year, and I enjoy reading so much more now.

On the downside it does make me a bit more critical of other peoples work because I understand more now and I look at if the book follows the rules, breaks them and whether it works or not.

There’s so much more to say, but I think as a writer, a writing group is one of the best time investments you can make. It will help you hone your skills as a writer, and you’ll see a noticeable improvement in your writing, and how you write.

While you interact with fellow writers, you won’t feel so alone in your writing world and you’ll find the support, encouragement and knowledge to become the writer you want to be.

4 Responses

  1. You, me, share brain. Lol!! Great post and I know what you mean about both enjoying reading more, and the downside of being more critical. Unless of course you’re awesome crit buddies like us where it’s a challenge to see who can be more picky. 😉 haha! Great post sweets. 🙂

  2. To be honest I put things off too much, I have a few cracking idea’s to get down, although I’m going more for short story than anything else that the moment just to make sure that I am concise with them. I really should get a move on but with the reading taking up a lot of my time I tend to spend more time figuring out what I found wrong wiht a certain novel or the odd piece of TV that I watched and how I’d improve it.

    An example of this was The Runaway by Martine Cole. This was the Sky One adaptation but as it went on I felt that it lost its way with the final episode feeling more like an anticlimax then going out with the bang.

    (Dont read this next bit if you intend to read the book or watch the programme.)

    SPOILER

    SPOILER

    SPOILER

    OK so what I’d have done for that final episode would have been to have had Aiden and Kathy’s child kidnapped by the IRA and held hostage by the female IRA operative Caitlin with Kathy getting a gun from DC Chalmers (who would have been revealed as her father), she shoots Cailtin, rescues the child and then goes after Aiden to tell him that he doesn’t have to deliver the IRA bomb to its location, only to arrive too late as the place blows up.

    That would have given it a better conclussion in my opinion and with Martine being known for strong women characters would have given Kathy a bit more backbone and allowed her to escape from the timid creature that she’d been at the beginning. More of a character journey, a bigger ending and of couse a happier viewer (at least from my POV. LOL)

    Sometimes thinking of a better ending for things can generate a lot of help towards your own writing as you’re also looking at character development.

  3. I agree – the OWG has been great for me too – I’ve learned a lot in my time on Kelley’s boards as well.

  4. Hi Pat! So true….being part of an online writing group is really wonderful – in many ways.

    It’s been a great experience and I’m happy we started at about the same time, becoming friends almost right away!

    Your talent shines!
    X Lisa

Leave a Reply

