• Header photo credit- Montana Sierra

  • Patricia Hollett

    The Author

  • Currently Writing/Completed

    Currently working on:

    Fallon -70,094 words
    Forest Born -67408 words
    Ice Whisperings -2997 words
    Garrett -9623words
    Northern Blood -11658 words
    Winter's Reign -787 words

    Completed

    Blood Harvest - 998 words
    Keeping Secrets - 1500 words
    Misunderstood -700 words
    Sarah's Amulet-A Necromancer Slave Story -6004 words
    The Cult -1998 words
    Unfortunate Blessings -454 words

    To Be Published

    Artistic Escape - flash (to be pub 2011)
    Happy Birthday Honey - flash (to be pub 2011)
    Making Choices - flash (to be pub 2011)
    Together Forever - flash (to be pub 2011)

    Published

    Allie's Clown - 1500 words (Published on Dark Valentine website March 2011)
    Valeria's Knight - 4807 words (Published in Dark Gothic Resurrected Magazine)
    The Angel Wars/Post-Apocalyptic Emails at the end of time-A collaboration with author Tammy Crosby (Published by PillHill Press in August 2011)
    Valeria's Knight - 4807 words (Published in Night to Dawn Magazine-September 2011)

  • Stuff to Read – Writing & Blogs

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 18 other followers

  • Blog Stats

    • 5,792 hits
  • Copyright ©

    All posts, stories and comments made by Patricia Hollett on WordPress.com are property of Patricia Hollett. All rights reserved. 2010 ©
  • Influenster

Medieval Times


Robin Hood, The Knights of the Round Table, and anything medieval has always captivated my interest whether it be in writing or watching any movie I can get my hands on.
There’s just something about the gallantry, the bravery, the chivalry and the romance of that period that makes it so intense and captivating.
I write mostly YA and UF, but there are times I like to write about knights, castles, Camelot and other medieval things and put a twist on a story from that era or make a story up from that period with a supernatural element.
I find it one of the most fascinating times in history although writing historical pieces is definitely not my style. I love the romance of those times and the brave men who risked all for their ladies. Of course this is only fiction, but it does make some enjoyable reading.
We’re so busy in our daily lives that we don’t always have the time for romance or chivalry.
Damsels in distress and knights in shining armour are fairy tales. We choose books to read and escape into another time period or life and become wrapped up in a fantastic story.
Writers have a gift of bringing those dreams and worlds to people with their words.
Do you have a favorite historical period or time? When is it?
I take my leave and grant you a look at one of my favorite romantic songs and a video clip from a good movie and story of that period. Enjoy! 🙂

Clip from Robin Hood

3 Responses

  1. I agree! King Arthur is one of my favorite movies! I also love ancient greek settings and victorian literature. All great periods of time…I wonder what they’ll say about us two-hundred years from now?!

  2. I love King Arthur, and Robin Hood, but some of the first Historical Fiction/Romance I read was Johanna Lindsey’s Gentle Rogue, which is set not long after the US declared its independence. That time, with the pirates/privateers, still captures my imagination.

  3. I’ve always loved King Arthur, but I can’t say I’d want to live in those times. Life was rough for women in the past. I think I’m good. 🙂 But, I have to tell you that I got my first to that very Bryan Adams song!

Leave a Reply

