• Header photo credit- Montana Sierra

  • Patricia Hollett

    The Author

  • Currently Writing/Completed

    Currently working on:

    Fallon -70,094 words
    Forest Born -67408 words
    Ice Whisperings -2997 words
    Garrett -9623words
    Northern Blood -11658 words
    Winter's Reign -787 words

    Completed

    Blood Harvest - 998 words
    Keeping Secrets - 1500 words
    Misunderstood -700 words
    Sarah's Amulet-A Necromancer Slave Story -6004 words
    The Cult -1998 words
    Unfortunate Blessings -454 words

    To Be Published

    Artistic Escape - flash (to be pub 2011)
    Happy Birthday Honey - flash (to be pub 2011)
    Making Choices - flash (to be pub 2011)
    Together Forever - flash (to be pub 2011)

    Published

    Allie's Clown - 1500 words (Published on Dark Valentine website March 2011)
    Valeria's Knight - 4807 words (Published in Dark Gothic Resurrected Magazine)
    The Angel Wars/Post-Apocalyptic Emails at the end of time-A collaboration with author Tammy Crosby (Published by PillHill Press in August 2011)
    Valeria's Knight - 4807 words (Published in Night to Dawn Magazine-September 2011)

  • Stuff to Read – Writing & Blogs

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 18 other followers

  • Blog Stats

    • 5,847 hits
  • Copyright ยฉ

    All posts, stories and comments made by Patricia Hollett on WordPress.com are property of Patricia Hollett. All rights reserved. 2010 ยฉ
  • Influenster

Acceptance


It was only two weeks ago I wrote about ‘Rejection’ on my blog. Surprised or I should say shocked, I received an email this week from a publisher who wants to publish my short story ‘Valeria’s Knight’ and my heart did skip a beat. I was thrilled. When I first saw the email title, I was afraid to check it, worried that it would be another rejection. Then as I read it, I couldn’t contain my excitement. I had to post it in my OWG to tell my friends who have helped me. It was because of them that I received this acceptance letter. My first publication! YAY! It’s a short story but nevertheless a published story it will be.

They offered to edit it and publish in 2011 (seems like a long way away), but Kelly just finished a line edit on it for me and so I emailed them back and asked them if I could submit a revised piece. They were pleased and said they’d love to see a revised piece and asked me to re-work the ending which appeared abrupt. I responded to that with ‘absolutely will take a look at the ending and resend in a couple of days’.

The thing about this is I couldn’t have done this on my own. My writing group OWG is largely responsible for helping me polish this piece up, and even then I have plenty of work to do on it now that it’s been circled in several different colors and edited to death. But, it’s much better than when I first presented it.

Not only that, but when I did post my good news on my group’s chat page, I was stopped dead in my tracks by a colleague who suggested I check out this publisher. The weird thing is the email I received was from a company I hadn’t sent my story to, so I was a little skeptical myself. Thrilled, but apprehensive.

So, following my friend’s suggestion, I checked them out and found that it was a company I submitted to but it is part of a larger publishing house, so I felt relieved.

Anway, all is good, I’ve done my homework, working on my re-write. It’s only 5000 words, so it’s not a whole novel. But it’s something. And I feel pretty damn good about it.

Anna and Kelly were instrumental in helping me with their line edits, and without them I couldn’t have done this.

Now, I’ve just got to get my novel finished and see how that goes.
But, without my OWG group, I’d be lost. I just love them! ๐Ÿ™‚

12 Responses

  1. A big congratulations! Where is your story going to be published??

  2. Thank you very much Diane. It’s going into ‘Night to Dawn’ magazine, so it’s a start. I’m quite excited. My first. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Excellent news! Congratulations!

  4. Congrats, Pat! I’m so excited for you! The OWG is an amazing place with an incredible amount of support. We’re blessed to have such friends.

  5. Thanks Danni, you’ve been an incredible help since I joined and I always think of that. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Great stuff, good to hear the positive side of writing and don’t be hard about ti being a short story piece, they’re instructional and they get your name known as you can then include it in your enquiry letters so tha you’re proven to have a publishable record.

  7. Congrats! That’s fantastic!

  8. But, without my OWG group, Iโ€™d be lost. I just love them! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Aw, we love you, too! ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Aww Tez, you do make us work hard but for our own benefit. You’re suggestions are always right on target, and always helpful. Never stop doing it. We appreciate it immensely.

Leave a Reply

