• Header photo credit- Montana Sierra

  • Patricia Hollett

    The Author

  • Currently Writing/Completed

    Currently working on:

    Fallon -70,094 words
    Forest Born -67408 words
    Ice Whisperings -2997 words
    Garrett -9623words
    Northern Blood -11658 words
    Winter's Reign -787 words

    Completed

    Blood Harvest - 998 words
    Keeping Secrets - 1500 words
    Misunderstood -700 words
    Sarah's Amulet-A Necromancer Slave Story -6004 words
    The Cult -1998 words
    Unfortunate Blessings -454 words

    To Be Published

    Artistic Escape - flash (to be pub 2011)
    Happy Birthday Honey - flash (to be pub 2011)
    Making Choices - flash (to be pub 2011)
    Together Forever - flash (to be pub 2011)

    Published

    Allie's Clown - 1500 words (Published on Dark Valentine website March 2011)
    Valeria's Knight - 4807 words (Published in Dark Gothic Resurrected Magazine)
    The Angel Wars/Post-Apocalyptic Emails at the end of time-A collaboration with author Tammy Crosby (Published by PillHill Press in August 2011)
    Valeria's Knight - 4807 words (Published in Night to Dawn Magazine-September 2011)

  • Stuff to Read – Writing & Blogs

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 18 other followers

  • Blog Stats

    • 5,749 hits
  • Copyright ©

    All posts, stories and comments made by Patricia Hollett on WordPress.com are property of Patricia Hollett. All rights reserved. 2010 ©
  • Influenster

I’m not afraid anymore!


Last night I finished a piece that I’ve been working on for about two weeks. It’s called Sarah’s Amulet-A Necromancer Slave Story. I wrote it with the intention of entering it in a contest. My second contest this month, and my second contest ever.
In the past, I would write for fun, and thought, wow! wouldn’t it be nice to actually write and get published, but I never pushed myself beyond that thought.
Since joining OWG (a wonderful writing group) three months ago, I now find I’m more focused on finishing my work, and trying to make it come to life.
It’s somewhat due to something a very nice person said to me. Donna (in OWG) said you’re not a writer unless you finish your work. She was kind enough to offer some helpful advice and her thoughts on writing. And now it’s a journey, not without difficulty. Finishing is the hard part.
I had only two stories completed, but now, I’ve actually completed four(short stories), all within the past month, but nonetheless they’re completed. This is something that evaded me before.
I’m working on completing four novels (a tough goal I know), but now I have the determination to finish my writing.
There are people that do it everyday day, or everyweek, but I wasn’t one of them. Danni writes a new ‘flash fiction’ piece every week. I envy that and wish I was that talented, but I’m a work in progress, still.
It’s a damn nice feeling to finish a piece of writing. I think I was always apprehensive and thought well if I don’t finish it, no one can hate it, because they’ll never see it. It’s that old fear of rejection.
And, yet, I don’t know where that comes from with my writing. I’ve never been fearful of doing anything in my life as much as this. I’ve designed clothes for some big stars, never hesitating in that creative endeavour, I’ve surpassed men in business positions, because I worked hard at it, without fear, and without hesitation.
But, my writing always stayed hidden as if it were a secret that I didn’t want to share with anyone. A secret that I kept to myself because I didn’t want anyone to see the inner workings of my mind. A place where only I could see and hear my thoughts and I kept it closed like a treasure chest.
Yes, there are a million ideas floating around up there. NO-It’s not hollow! haha! But, getting them out on paper and actually making something out of them is the hard part. I’m not good at it yet. I hope to be. I want to be.
But, at least I’m trying now, where I was afraid before. And, yes I’m sure some people will not like what I write, but I hope some do, and that’s all I’ll need to keep my fear at bay.
I’ve posted an excerpt from my finished piece for anyone that wishes to read it. I hope you enjoy it, and welcome any comments, good or bad.
I’m not afraid anymore! 🙂

8 Responses

  1. That’s such an awesome feeling Pat! To tell you the truth, I still get scared every time I post a new piece. Writing is very intimate and personal and it’s hard to put yourself out there. It takes dedication and patience and a lot of hard work, but you’re on your way! You’ve got a great group of supporters in the OWG who will help you stay on track and get your novels competed. I know you can do it!

  2. Thanks Danni, you’ve been such an inspiration. More than you know! Thanks 🙂

  3. Congrats on your success, whilst I’ve always written adult fiction before (or tried to) I’ve never hit my goal of finishing my manuscript. I’ve now (the last week or so) tackled my first full kids book (OK so its nothing major, just a picture book) but I’m quite pleased with the result.

    I’ve got some interesting characters kicking about, I’ve got idea’s for more (some of the same series, some for a seperate series and others aimed at the 8 year old market) and I think that it might be where my writing road may lie.

    It’s refreshing and exciting when you get it done and feel proud of what you’ve achieved and with luck Diddy Di will ride again.

    • Thank you Gareth! I would love to be able to post a comment on your blog, but not always regarding a book review. A comment on the overall site, the reviews in general without having to zero in on one specific review. I love the site. It’s quite informative and you do a wonderful job of providing an insight into the books you read.
      Thanks again for you comments on my blog. It means alot to me. 🙂

  4. Oh yes, I know the feeling…even when you get that contract and it goes out to the reading public you still feel like you’re sharing your soul…sometimes it works out and sometimes you get slammed!

    What you have to keep in mind is that everyone’s opinion is subjective and based on a variety of tastes, influences and moods. That’s something that I have to keep reminding myself. Some people will like what I write and some won’t.

    I think it’s wonderful that you post your work for all to see! Bravo…you should feel proud for taking that step!

    • I agree Angela. It’s a tough business, and a tough world. I know persistence pays off, but as you’ve said, it’s a subjective view when it comes to writing.
      You’ve got a lot on your plate right now, and I thank you for taking the time to check out my blog and leave a comment. 🙂

  5. Ha! You’re a blogger! Yeah, forward progress is a must for a writer, always forward. It’s also important to always maintain some sort of forwards momentum. As Kelley says, “Keep writing.”

    I should morph that into a cheer.

    KEEP WRITING!

Leave a Reply

