• Header photo credit- Montana Sierra

  • Patricia Hollett

    The Author

  • Currently Writing/Completed

    Currently working on:

    Fallon -70,094 words
    Forest Born -67408 words
    Ice Whisperings -2997 words
    Garrett -9623words
    Northern Blood -11658 words
    Winter's Reign -787 words

    Completed

    Blood Harvest - 998 words
    Keeping Secrets - 1500 words
    Misunderstood -700 words
    Sarah's Amulet-A Necromancer Slave Story -6004 words
    The Cult -1998 words
    Unfortunate Blessings -454 words

    To Be Published

    Artistic Escape - flash (to be pub 2011)
    Happy Birthday Honey - flash (to be pub 2011)
    Making Choices - flash (to be pub 2011)
    Together Forever - flash (to be pub 2011)

    Published

    Allie's Clown - 1500 words (Published on Dark Valentine website March 2011)
    Valeria's Knight - 4807 words (Published in Dark Gothic Resurrected Magazine)
    The Angel Wars/Post-Apocalyptic Emails at the end of time-A collaboration with author Tammy Crosby (Published by PillHill Press in August 2011)
    Valeria's Knight - 4807 words (Published in Night to Dawn Magazine-September 2011)

  • Stuff to Read – Writing & Blogs

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 18 other followers

  • Blog Stats

    • 5,792 hits
  • Copyright ©

    All posts, stories and comments made by Patricia Hollett on WordPress.com are property of Patricia Hollett. All rights reserved. 2010 ©
  • Influenster

The Necromancer’s Slave


Here is an excerpt from the piece that supposedly is similar to Stephen King’s work. It’s rough, unfinished, but I hope whoever reads this, enjoys it for what it is.

I am a necromancer’s slave. Stuck between here and the afterlife, my penance I’m sure for a life of corrupt behavior.
There are times I wish I’d just rot or burn to death so I could be set free and have no one pulling my strings, but I must find the key to escape this soulless journey that I’ve been wandering for many years.
It started many years ago when I was a vampire, and many people lost their lives to my desire.
Only when I’d lost my own to someone better than I, did I find myself trapped in this hell I now call home. Maybe this was the destiny of all vampires. Surely, I couldn’t be the only one to experience this misery.
This was the time of day when I felt nothing. No feeling, no pain, and no desire. How I’d been stuck with this necromancer was beyond me. She was a cruel, despicable human who’s evil was as incomprehensible as was my reason for still being here. I’d served my purpose more than once, and gone above and beyond when she beckoned me.

10 Responses

  1. Very interesting concept, Pat. Can’t wait to read the finished product.

  2. It’s definitely a magnificant start, I’m excited to read more! xx

  3. Great premise!

  4. Really good concept and I hope that it continues to develop with the promise that this excerpt shows.

  5. The beginning made me wonder what would happen next – so keep going.

    Best,

    DianeG

  6. Thank you Diane, very encouraging. 🙂

    I just finished it, 6458 words, and submitting it for that Necromancer contest, so I guess we’ll see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

